The Big 12 Men’s Basketball Tournament known since its inception in 1997 under sponsorship agreements as the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Tournament is the championship men’s basketball tournament in the Big 12 Conference. It is a single-elimination tournament of four rounds, with the top four seeds getting byes in the first round. Starting in 2012, the top six seeds will get byes in the first round. Seeding is based on regular season records.

Big 12 Tournament-

Now, here are the 2016 Top Six Teams in the Big 12 Tournaments:


Kansas is the No. 1 team in the country as well as the top seed in the conference tournament.

  • Quarterfinal opponent: Kansas State/Oklahoma State winner
  • Season series: 2-0 vs. Kansas State, 1-1 vs. Oklahoma State

The Jayhawks, riding an 11-game winning streak, are a near-lock for a No. 1 NCAA Tournament seed heading into the Big 12 Tournament. KU is led offensively by senior forward Perry Ellis, who averaged 17.7 points while making 54 percent of his twos, 44 percent of his threes and 79 percent of his free throws in Big 12 play. The Jayhawks haven’t won the conference tournament since 2013, falling to Iowa State in each of the last two seasons.

  • Quarterfinal opponent: Texas Tech-TCU winner
  • Season series: 2-0 vs. Texas Tech, 2-0 vs. TCU

The Mountaineers, looking for their first Big 12 Tournament victory, carry a four-game winning streak into the postseason, and three of those victories came against likely NCAA Tournament-bound teams by double digits. Defensive pressure continues to be the Mountaineers’ calling card. They lead the Big 12 in steals at 9.8 per game and turnover margin at 4.4 a game. They’re also the league’s most relentless rebounding team, topping the league in offensive and defensive rebounding percentage.

  • Quarterfinal opponent: Iowa State
  • Season series: 1-1

Three starters — Buddy Hield, Isaiah Cousins and Ryan Spangler — are the top three in the Big 12 in minutes played. Oklahoma won its final two games, but went 4-3 to finish the season. Still, the Sooners are in the conversation for a No. 1 seed. Hield is the league’s most talented offensive player, averaging 25.1 points and shooting 47 percent on three-pointers. Oklahoma makes more three-pointers per game (10.6) and shoots at a higher percentage (43.0) than any other team in the Big 12.

Fourth: TEXAS
  • Quarterfinal opponent: Baylor
  • Season series: 1-1

In his first season as coach, Shaka Smart raised the energy level of the Longhorns. Now, he’ll see if he can alter Texas’ postseason fortunes. The Longhorns have advanced past the quarterfinal round just once in the last three seasons. Smart said that Cameron Ridley could see action this week. The 6-10, 290-pound senior was averaging 12.7 points and 10.0 rebounds through 11 games when he went down because of a broken foot in December.

  • Quarterfinal opponent: Texas
  • Season series: 1-1

Baylor was the only Big 12 team with a better conference road record (6-3) than home (4-5). All-conference forward Taurean Prince has scored in double figures in 14 straight games and is averaging 19.3 points in his last three. After winning at Texas by 15 on Feb. 20, the Bears closed the regular season by losing three of four. Baylor joins Michigan State and Oklahoma as the only teams ranked in the top 25 in men’s and women’s basketball and football.

  • Quarterfinal opponent: Oklahoma
  • Season series: 1-1

The Cyclones are bidding for their third straight tournament championship. Iowa State has been a giant-killer over the last three seasons. Its 22 victories over teams ranked in The Associated Press poll in that time ranks second nationally. The Cyclones lead the Big 12 in scoring (82.0) and in field-goal percentage (50.3) and are trying to become the first Big 12 team in four years to shoot 50 percent or better from the field.

Did You Know?

The tournament has been held every year since the first full basketball season was completed in 1997. The Big 12 was formed in 1996. Since that time, it was held in Kemper Arena in Kansas City, Missouri in early March for every year up until 2003, and also in 2005. In 2003, 2004, and 2006 it was held at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas, and in 2007 it was held in the Ford Center at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. In 2008 it was again held in Kansas City, but this time at the Sprint Center.



The 2009 edition of the championship was held in Oklahoma City, with the event returning to Kansas City from 2010 through 2014. On June 1, 2012, it was announced that the Big 12 Tournament would stay in Kansas City through 2016. Kansas has won the most Big 12 postseason titles as well, winning 10 out of 20.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s